Expectations

During my last 8 hours of Sea Otter 2012 I wasn’t expecting much.  First of all our property manager, Nick, invited us down to his euro style hotel off the beaten path in downtown Monterey for some drinks.  To show our appreciation we headed down.  Brady and his dad Russ were busy updating copy since their website was blowing up after the media explosion of Kappius Components.  Care-Bear and I were both cracking and looking to get to dinner ASAP.  Dylan met us there after a day trip to coach his son’s Lacrosse game.  Once we came upon the revamped hostel our plan was a quick in and out mission – one drink then we head to dinner.  Once inside Nick took amazing care of us.  Appetizers flowed for a solid hour for the 5 1/2 of us (Hoke joined us after a private dinner with Ettinger).   We had so many delicious, grande appetizers that we totally passed up on dinner. After we were all full Nick took us up and showed us this sweet deck that overlooked the Monterey Bay.

The next morning I wasn’t expecting much. I gave myself extra time knowing I was in store for adventure.  I set my alarm for 3:55 a.m. in order to catch the 5:35 flight from Monterey to Denver.  I called for a taxi the day before since I had such an early wake up.  My phone rang at 3:45 with the taxi cab driver asking me where I was staying.  I gave him directions, the gate code, started getting my stuff to the end of our driveway and began waiting patiently.  At 4 a.m. I figured maybe I should start walking down the private road to look for the taxi cab driver.  Sure enough he calls, and is lost. Just as I expected. So I keep walking all the way to the 68 Hwy. After a couple more phone conversations explaining I’m on the 68 by construction, another voice gets on the phone and asks me where I am.  As I’m explaining, I see the taxi! As I start walking towards it I was met half way by a sheriff who started interrogating me.  He asks me, “If you are headed to airport, where is your luggage!?”  I responded, “About a mile and half away since the taxi couldn’t find my place!” He then wanted to know what I was doing, where I lived, the address of where I was staying, why I was in Monterey… Before I knew it I was pulling out my ID and the cop was running it to make sure it was valid and I really lived in Colorado.  I guess I passed because the cop went on to inform me that a couple of cars were broken into in the neighborhood.  It’s some new get away – break into cars, steal stuff, then call for a get away.  Lucky for me my get away car was a taxi to the airport.

Posted on April 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

