Madison race Recap

We put together a solid weekend @ the first set of USGP’s in Madison. Here is my cyclingdirt interview from day 1 where I ended up 12th after a bad start. http://www.cyclingdirt.org/embed/MzMxNTA3Njk2?related=1

Watch more video of USGP Planet Bike Cup 2011 on cyclingdirt.org

Mitch had a solid 15th and got his 1 uci point which matches his nickname #1.

Sunday was a totally different race with the sky opening up and heavy stuff coming down. I had a great start but then proceeded to lay it down hard and gave myself a self inflicted mechanical. With not having my B bike dialed in which was just built this weekend I nursed the issue for a couple laps before I pitted. I did my first lap on my new Cannondale superX(thanks Troy @ Cannondale) in the race. The bike was working awesome looking forward to putting it to use in fort Collins. I ended up racing with Kabush and Powers for 8th. Unfortunately for me I ran out of gas and ended up 10th. All said I’m psyched with the first weekend of USGP’s with a couple of Belgians in the top 10.


Mitch didn’t end up having a great day. He was having some issues with the mud. He ended up rolling in for 25th. With that said the first mud race can be a shock to the system. It definitely takes a few time to get your mud legs and bike handling down.

Thanks to Myron, Zak, and Waldek for all the help this weekend. Hopefully Myron won’t have to glue any tires or do a bike build in Fort Collins.  The guy has been busy in the rush to get everything setup in the beginning of the season.

Next up for us is Fort Collins in two weeks. Im hoping today’s weather is the trend for the season.

Troy

Posted on September 26, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment